2ND JULY 2013- 9.30am-1pm- DCMA (Old Customs House)

The East Africa Community is built on the five countries of Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania Kenya and Uganda. It is not simply a geographical entity but a cultural one as well. It has a sense of shared history, with each country’s borders reflecting similar political and economic values despite its traditional and colonial histories. A Panel of Experts in film policy has been convened to review the existing film funding activities in the individual countries which in many cases are very much inspired by European experiences adapted to the present African realities. Through the East African Film Commission Panel industry experts from Australia, Kenya, UK, Barbados, India and Tanzania will discuss the potential for building an east African Film Commission focusing on policies that will enhance the burgeoning film industry.

This Forum gives opportunity to filmmakers to discuss their development within the context of a regional setting. This year we hope to infuse this process by not only creating space for discussion but also through discussing  how the mushrooming festivals in the region can further collaborate further  and ensure that they work towards the development of the peoples of this region. This forum is a key cultural activity at ZIFF since East Africa remains the least productive region in Africa in terms of film production. It needs support and our meeting at ZIFF allows for the exchange of experience and for advocacy.

The Panel of Experts include:

Joan Peters- Commissioner- Australian film Commission
Prof Mick Brodeick- former Commissioner Australian Film Commission
Lidia Pilcher- Producer – (10 films by Mira Nair)
Prof Jane Bryce- University of West indies –Barbados
Charles Asiba-Kenya Film Commission
Alex Mulwa- Kenya Film Commission
Kivu Ruhorahoza- GIZ-Consultant East African Community