Zanzibar, July 2nd, 2013

A Panel of Experts in film policy met at the Grand Palace Hotel to review the existing film funding activities in the individual countries which in many cases are very much inspired by European experiences adapted to the present African realities. Through the East African Film Commission Panel industry experts from Australia, Kenya, UK, Barbados, India and Tanzania discussed the potential for building an East African Film Commission focusing on policies that will enhance the burgeoning film industry.

KivuThe East Africa Community is built on the five countries of Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania Kenya and Uganda. It is not simply a geographical entity but a cultural one as well. It has a sense of shared history, with each country’s borders reflecting similar political and economic values despite its traditional and colonial histories.

The forum gave an opportunity for filmmakers to discuss their development within the context of a regional setting. This year the panel hopes to infuse this process by not only creating space for discussion but also through discussing  how the mushrooming festivals in the region can further collaborate further  and ensure that they work towards the development of the peoples of this region.

This forum is a key cultural activity at Zanzibar International Film Festival since East Africa remains the least productive region in Africa in terms of film production.

The Panel of Experts included:
Joan Peters- Commissioner- Australian film Commission

Margot McDonald- Australia

Prof Mick Brodeick- former Commissioner Australian Film Commission

Lidia Pilcher- Producer – (10 films by Mira Nair)

Prof Jane Bryce- University of West indies –Barbados

Alex Mulwa- Kenya Film Commission

Kivu Ruhorahoza- GIZ-Consultant East African Community

David Forbes- South Africa

Tonya Lee Williams- Canada